Skip to main content

FREE SHIPPING on all qualifying orders over $100.00. A $9.95 shipping fee applies to all other orders.

Tire Chain Laws

Tire Chain Laws

Alabama | Alaska | Arizona | Arkansas | California | Colorado | Connecticut | Delaware | Georgia | Idaho | Illinois | Indiana | Iowa | Kansas | Kentucky | Louisiana | Maine | Maryland | Massachusetts | Michigan | Minnesota | Mississippi | Montana | Nebraska | Nevada | New Jersey | New Mexico | New York | North Carolina | North Dakota | Ohio | Oklahoma | Oregon | Pennsylvania | Rhode Island | South Carolina | South Dakota | Tennessee | Texas | Utah | Virginia | Washington | West Virginia | Wisconsin | Wyoming | Canada Tire Chain Laws


Alabama

Studs, safety spike tires, or chains permissible when required for safety due to weather.


Alaska

April 15 - Sept 30: No studs or chains south of 60 North Latitude
May 1- Sept 15: No studs or chains on the highway for areas north of 60 North Latitude
May 1 - Sept 15: No studs or chains on any part of Sterling Highway

Fees and permits apply for studs or chains. Registration sticker must be present on the vehicle.


Arizona

Oct 1 - May 1: Studs allowed when less than 3% of total tire contact with pavement
Chains permissible for safety when weather requires.
Mountain passes noting chain requirements mean vehicles must chain up to proceed


Arkansas

Nov 15 - Apr 15: Studs may be used on vehicles less than 6000 lbs when ice or snow is present. Chains permissible for safety when weather requires.


California

Must always stop and chain up where posted.

3 Requirement Levels:

  • R1 - Required on all vehicles except passenger and light-duty trucks under 6000lbs equipped with snow tires on two drive wheels. Trailer tows must have chains on one drive axle. Trailers with brakes must have chains on at least one axle
  • R2 - Chains required on all vehicles except 4 wheel drive with snow treads on all wheels
  • R3 - Chains required; no exceptions

Colorado

Sept 1 - May 31: Chains required on commercial vehicles on 170 Corridor from Dotsero (MM133) to Golden (MM 259) with 4+ drive wheels covered in appropriate traction devices
Chain Law Level 1: Single-drive axle commercial vehicles must chain
Chain Law Level 2: All commercial vehicles must chain

Visit http://www.coloradodot.info/library/Brochures/ChainTips.pdf if you are unsure if your vehicle meets requirements


Connecticut

Nov 15 - Apr 30: Studs and non-skid devices permitted


Delaware

Oct 15 - Apr 15: Studs permissible, chains when required for safety due to weather conditions


Georgia

Signs indicate when chains are required for passage. Snow tires and four-wheel drive may be permissible in some areas. Commercial vehicles with 4+ drive wheels must chain 4 drive wheels minimum when limited access to road is posted.


Idaho

Oct 1 - Apr 30: Studs are permissible. Commercial vehicles required to chain where posted.


Illinois

Chains permissible for safety when weather requires.


Indiana

Oct 1 - May 1: Studs permissible. Chains permissible for safety when weather requires.


Iowa

Nov 1 - Apr 1: Studs permissible. Chains permissible for safety when weather requires.


Kansas

Nov 1 - Apr 1: Studs permissible


Kentucky

Chains permissible for safety when weather requires.


Louisiana

Chains permissible for safety when weather requires.


Maine

Oct 2 - Apr 30: Studs permitted Chains permitted where posted.


Maryland

Chains permissible for safety when weather requires. Studs not allowed on vehicles over 10,000 lbs


Massachusetts

Nov 1- May 1: Studs permitted


Michigan

Chains permissible for safety when weather requires.


Minnesota

Chains permissible for safety when weather requires.


Mississippi

Chains permissible for safety when weather requires.


Montana

Studs oct 1 - may 31Chains permissible where posted.


Nebraska

Nov 1 - Apr 1: Studs permitted. Chains permissible for safety when weather requires.


Nevada

Oct 1 - Apr 30: Studs permitted. Where posted: Chains required on drive axles for vehicles 10,000lbs+


New Jersey

Chains permissible for safety when weather requires.


New Mexico

Chains permissible for safety when weather requires.


New York

Tire chains are required when a snow emergency has been declared.


North Carolina

Chains permissible for safety when weather requires.


North Dakota

Oct 15 - Apr 15: Studs permitted. Chains permissible for safety when weather requires.


Ohio

Nov 1 - Apr 15: Studs permitted.


Oklahoma

Chains permissible for safety when weather requires.


Oregon

Nov 1 - Mar 31: Studs permitted. Posted signs indicate requirements.


Pennsylvania

Nov 1 - Apr 15: Studs permitted. Chains permitted where posted.


Rhode Island

Chains permissible for safety when weather requires.


South Carolina

Chains permissible for safety when weather requires.


South Dakota

Chains permissible for safety when weather requires.


Tennessee

Oct 1 - Apr 15: Studs permitted. Chains permitted where posted.


Texas

Chains permissible for safety when weather requires.


Utah

Oct 1 - Apr 30: Chains, snow tires, elastomeric chains, or 4WD with 2 snow tires minimum required. Commercial vehicles require to chain 4 drive wheels. Recreational vehicles required to chain 2.


Virginia

Oct 15 - Apr 15: Studs permitted on vehicles under 10,000 lbs Chains permissible for safety when weather requires.


Washington

Nov 1 - Mar 31: Studs permitted. Chains required where posted. Requirements vary on axles and vehicle configuration. See http://www.wsdot.wa.gov/commercialvehicle/chain_req.htm for details.


West Virginia

Nov 1 - Apr 15: Studs permitted. Chains permissible for safety when weather requires.


Wisconsin

Chains permissible for safety when weather requires.


Wyoming

Chains required where posted.

  • Level 1: Travel restricted to vehicles with chains, snow tires, or all wheel drive.
  • Level 2: Travel restricted to vehicles with chains or adequate mud/snow tires. Commercial vehicles must have chains on 2 drive wheels at opposite ends of same drive axle.

No Tire Chain Laws

D.C., Florida, Hawaii, Missouri, New Hampshire, and Vermont


Canadian Chain Laws

  • Alberta: Allowed when conditions warrant.
  • British Columbia: Vehicles in the mountains must be equipped with snow tires or chains from Oct. 1 to Apr. 30.
  • Manitoba: Permissible upon a motor vehicle where required for safety
  • New Brunswick: May also be carried in the vehicle for use in ice and snow conditions.
  • Newfoundland: Required on drive wheels when there is snow or ice on the surface of the highway.
  • Nova Scotia: Permissible upon any vehicle when required for safety because of snow, ice or other conditions tending to cause a vehicle to slide or skid.
  • Prince Edward Island: Permissible to use tire chains
  • Quebec: Snow tires are mandatory from Dec. 15 to March 15.